Image

I’m Back!

I’m back! After a not-so-brief hiatus, I’ve dusted off my recipe book and dug up my WordPress password to get back to sharing some fun stuff!
The past few months have been pretty busy with work and getting into a rhythm. Since August I’ve run a few really fun races and had some really great times. I am in “training mode” now and really enjoying the building blocks towards my half marathon in January (Sedona 2015 – CANNOT wait!!). I am lucky to have met so many awesome people and runners through the Fleet Feet store, and they are keeping me going – especially with shorter daylight hours. Umm… creepy things come out in the dark – I am all for safety in numbers. So here’s a little synopsis of what you’ve missed. Then we can get to the good part – which is food, of course!

IMG_0632

I ran my first ever 5k – not only that, I ran my first ever RACE!  It’s not somewhere I ever thought I’d see myself – but I did it, and even took first in my age category. Sometimes it is important to look back in life, just to see how far you’ve come. Since then I’ve done a 10k, a 7k trail race, and a 12k. Talk about addicting… I’ve got the racing bug.

In October, we had the pleasure of traveling back to Maine to see Brian’s brother and his beautiful fiance (look they have a blog too! VO2(snax)) tie the knot. We shared a wonderful week with family and loved ones doing all that fall New England – y stuff that you just can’t do in the desert: apple picking, country fairs, Pinecrest rd. bonfires… Our departure was bitter sweet.

1506896_10152921120254887_1841907307228554271_nThis year we prepared our first Thanksgiving feast for two. While we missed sharing time with our families, we always find warmth in the abundance of blessings that we have. One of which being the lovely people we have met and had the pleasure of sharing a Thanksgiving morning hike with. It was a beautiful day!

10802062_10152920458049887_6531705393955155204_n

And now I just can’t believe that we are just only week away from Christmas!!  Last weekend we hosted the Fleet Feet Scottsdale Christmas party at our place. It was so nice to squeeze everyone into our little apartment. There was food, wine, laughter, and Brian and I welcomed a new member to our family…

Everyone, meet Bubby
10801523_10152958804889887_8482462391342111404_n

And yes, that’s me dying of laughter when I opened up my white elephant gift to find… a goldfish.

So that’s where we’re at right now. Getting ready to celebrate the Holidays and ring in the New Year with new ambitions and open hearts! And hopefully some more consistent blogging!! I’ll be back in the kitchen soon and sharing some more yummy Paleo-friendly runner food soon!

Leave a comment