Long Run Fuel: Or Not…

It’s never easy when your long run is a failed attempt. I  had hoped to do 8.5 miles this morning after I rocked last week’s 8, but I just didn’t have it in me this morning. My immediate reaction is to start going through the list of variables in my head to figure out EXACTLY what went wrong: well,maybe it’s because I didn’t sleep enough, maybe it’s because I didn’t really eat any carbs yesterday, maybe I should have run yesterday, maybe I should have done yoga yesterday… the list goes on and on and on. And as I am trying to figure out precisely what I need to do to prevent this from ever happening again, that little voice of reason pops up in my head and says, “Maybe you should just let it go…” The hardest person to forgive and not judge is ourselves, and it is especially hard to accept ourselves during times of failure, but it is important to let it go and move on. Forgive, forget, and keep on trying! So I ran 6.6 with my Wednesday running partner, walked about a mile, then gave up as it started to thunder. Even though I was feeling a little down about my run, it was still a wonderful day off, and I’m going to tell you all about it!
Let me just start by talking about how disgusting the weather was this morning. 80 degrees and 78% humidity. Ugh! I know all you Maine peeps are like, “psh… stop whining! That’s nothing”, but even after only 3 months in the desert, that feels like the freaking rainforest. The air felt so thick and smelled like wet dust. Ugh!
So I was up at 4:30 because I really need like 45 minutes to get ready to go out for a run and to drink my coffee. Pre-run I like to keep it pretty simple. I don’t usually feel like eating anything this early  in the morning, but I find that I (usually) perform better if i do. Green apples seem to be about the easiest thing for me to digest before a work out, and before a long run I add just a little blob of honey to my coconut oil coffee (check out How We Do Coffee).  Then a few stretches, some leg swings, and air squats to get the blood moving.
After my run, I came home, ate breakfast (eggs, quinoa, leftover parsnips! Yum!), drank a ton of water, and headed out for some shopping with Brian. Shopping went about as well as the run did… I have 3 events that I need dresses/outfits for and managed to find only one shirt that applied to none of the above. Shopping is way more exhausting than running – especially when you can’t find what you’re looking for. Brian had about as much luck as I did and called it quits as soon as hunger started to kick in. We came home for, you betcha, salads! Mine came out really pretty, just take a look:

2014-08-13 13.44.20

I wasn’t feeling the greens so much, so today it was mostly toppings. Cooked carrots, leftover sausage, avocado, bell pepper, cherry tomatoes, and oil and vinegar. SO good!!
We enjoyed a nice lazy afternoon hanging by the pool and relaxing at home. Batteries are re-charged and ready for what the rest of the week brings us! I’m thinking some running, eating, cooking, and nature!

0813141832~2

 

Leave a comment