Headache Help

2014-07-11 17.03.50
“Here comes a Haboob” Headache Salve

1/4 c. Coconut oil
4-5 drops Lavender essential oil
4-5 drops Peppermint essential oil
Lavender flowers (optional)
Melt the coconut oil in a double boiler or in the microwave (or, if you live in Arizona, just leave it on your counter…) until it is in a liquid state. Add the oils and lavender flowers, and chill in the fridge until solidified.  Store in the fridge or a cool place.

In the past few weeks, as the monsoon season begins, we’ve been experiencing some crazy weather out here. Well…. sort of – I’ll believe the rain when I see it.  Almost every afternoon we see the huge thunder clouds roll in from behind the mountains east of us, the winds pick up, sometimes there’s lightning, sometimes there’s dust, there hasn’t been rain, but for me there is ALWAYS a headache. We see a cloudless sky slowly taken over by huge, and I mean HUGE, “thunder-boomers”, and that drastic change in barometric pressure makes my head throb.  I whipped up this salve the other day to help soothe my head and my mood.  Just find a quiet place to sit, put a little salve on your index and middle fingers and slowly massage into your temples.  It feels great, and smells great! Just be sure not to put too much on your fingers, it’s just coconut oil after all and it will dribble down the side of your face! A little bit goes a long way!

In regards to the inspiration for the name of my salve, a “Haboob” is a dust storm.  As the weather moves in and the winds pick up, it moves all that dust and grit with it.

One thought on “Headache Help

Leave a comment